Brent Celek Semifinalist For Draddy Trophy

Brent Celek Semifinalist For Draddy Trophy

University of Cincinnati senior tight end Brent Celek has been selected as one of the best and brightest from college football. The Cincinnati native was announced today as one of the 148 semifinalists for the Draddy Trophy given out by the National Football Foundation.

The Draddy is considered one of the highest honors in all of college football and those selected as finalist will enjoy many rewards.


To reach this level, a college football first-team student athlete must combine academics, on field performance and community leadership.  Semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.


Out of the total nominees are a record 64 from Division I-A. Finalist will compete for the 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship.  Those not lucky enough to win the big prize don't walk away empty handed as each will be receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.


This years finalist will be announced on October 26, and the winner announced on December 5th at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City at a "Who's – Who's" dinner of special guest and former college football greats.


Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to credit a player for both academic and athletic accomplishments. The Draddy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program's mystique. Past Draddy winners, including two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, a Heisman winner and a 3.7 average GPA, are: Chris Howard (Air Force, 1990); John B. Culpepper (Florida, 1991); Jim Hansen (Colorado, 1992); Thomas Burns (Virginia, 1993); Robert Zatechka (Nebraska, 1994); Bobby Hoying (Ohio State, 1995); Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996); Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1998); Chad Pennington (Marshall, 1999); Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska, 2000); Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami, 2001); Brandon Roberts (Washington University-Mo., 2002); Craig Krenzel (Ohio State, 2003); Michael Munoz (Tennessee, 2004); and Rudy Niswanger (Louisiana State, 2005).


BCI NOTE: Bearcat Insider would like to congratulate Brent Celek for making it this far.  This is a special honor I've seen work first hand.  My brother Jeff Berk was one of the 15 finalists in 2004 and used his post-graduate scholarship to help finish his master's degree in special education. Recommended Stories

Up Next


0 Fans online
    Join The Conversation